KCACTF NATIONAL RECOGNITION IN DESIGN, DIRECTING, DRAMATURGY, PLAYWRITING, AND STAGE MANAGEMENT

2019

Susan Kupferer, participated in the State Management Fellowship at Nationals, Wonderland.

2018

Susan Kupferer, participated in the Lighting Design Fellowship at Nationals, The Mill on the Floss.

2017

Cali Holcomb, National Finalist in Stage Management, Mary Poppins.

Brittni Henretty, National Finalist 10-minute play, "Game Four."

Richelle Sutton, National Finalist Candidate in Dramaturgy, *The Mill on the Floss*.

2015

Crysta Powell, first place in the Region VIII Stage Management Competition, *The Count of Monte Cristo*, represented BYU at the national festival in April.

Amy Castro, first place in the Directing Competition and went to Nationals.

Haley Flanders (graduate student), the Regional Finalist for Dramaturgy, one of four students nationally who went to KCACTF National Conference in dramaturgy, *The Fisherman's Wife*.

Single Wide received the Blanche and Irving Laurie Musical Theatre Award; playwright is **George Nelson** (faculty) and the composer is **Jordan Kamalu** (music student).

2013

Ariel Mitchell, won the Harold and Mimi Steinberg National Student Playwriting Award for A Second Birth.

2012

Shelby Luke, won the National Partners Design Award, and a trip to Korea for her designs for *Peter Pan*.

2008

Matthew Green won outstanding original 10-minute play and traveled to Washington DC to participate in the national 10-minute play process.

Emily Grider Ray, Region VIII Outstanding Student Dramaturgy winner, traveled to Washington DC to participate on the national level, for her work on *Pericles*.

2007

Danney Palliser, first in the regional Stage Management competition and participated at the national level for her work on *The Foreigner*.

2006

Beth Ellsworth, Dramaturgy Regional Finalist, and attended the National Dramaturgy Festival for ACTF for her work in *Fuente Ovejuna*.

2004

LeeAnne Hill Adams, won the David Mark Cohen Playwriting Award winner for Archipelago.

Sarah Lock, National Mehron Makeup and Hair Design Award winner for her work in Misalliance.

Sarah Lock, International Winner of USITT Young Designer and Technicians Makeup Design Award, Misalliance.

National Invited Production Awards

2019 National Awards

Radium Girls, which was Invited to Region VIII KCACT Festival in Los Angeles, also won the following National Awards:

- § Distinguished Production of a Play
- § Distinguished Director of a Play: **Stephanie Breinholt** (faculty)
- § Distinguished Performance and Production Ensemble
- § Outstanding Performance in Supporting Roles: Sten Shearer
- § Distinguished Performance in a Leading Role: Mikah Vaclaw and Dylan Wright
- § Distinguished Performance in Supporting Roles: Ben Raymant and Clara Wright
- § National Commendation for Lighting and Scenic Design Adaptation: **Matt Taylor** and **Janes Hay-cock**
- § National Commendation for Costume Design: Hanna Cutler
- § National Commendation for Scenic Painting: James Haycock
- § National Commendation for Production Dramaturgy: Pollyanna Eyler
- § National Commendation for Stage Management: Melissa Longhurst
- § National Commendation for Properties: Jennifer Reed

Awards listed here:



2015 National Awards

Our Town, which was invited to Region VII KCACT Festival in Cedar City, also won the following National Awards:

- § Outstanding Production of a Modern Classic
- § Outstanding Director of a Play: Stephanie Breinholt (faculty)
- § Outstanding Lighting Design: Mark Ohran (staff)
- § Outstanding Costume Design: Ashley Cook
- § Outstanding Performance by an Actress in a Supporting Role: Mackenzie Larsen
- § Outstanding Performance and Production Ensemble
- § Distinguished Performance by an Actress in a Leading Role: Brittany Stahly
- § Distinguished Performance by an Actor in a Leading Role: Morgan Gunter
- § Distinguished Performance by an Actor in a Leading Role: Jacob Swain
- § Distinguished Performance by an Actor in a Supporting Role: Joseph Skousen
- § National Commendation for Achievement in Stage Management: Hannah Richardson
- § National Commendation for Achievement in Performance: Andrew Justvig
- § National Commendation for Achievement in Scenic Design: Travis Coyne
- § National Commendation for Media, Cinematography, Editing, and Concept: David Jon Banks

2014 National Awards

Microburst Theatre Festival was invited to the regional festival and received the following National awards:

- Distinguished Productions of a New Work
- Distinguished Director of a New Work: George Nelson (faculty)
- Distinguished Achievement in Performance and Ensemble Work